top of page

Symphonic Jazz Works

Concerto for Jazz Piano and Orchestra (2023)
I.    Converging Fates


II.   Finding You


III.  Together Through Time

for full orchestra and jazz piano trio

Duration: 20 minutes
Purchase Conductor Score, Parts, and Solo Piano Part at the Score/Parts Store!

Jazz Piano Concerto Cover Thumbnail.png

Concerto for Jazz Violin and Orchestra (2007)

I.    Blue Reel

II.   Ballad
III.  Step Dance

for symphony orchestra and violin solo 

Commissioned by Chien Tan

Winner of the University of Miami
Concerto Competition

Duration: 15-16 minutes


Routenberg's Jazz Violin Concerto has become the composer's most popular work, with performances around the world spanning three continents.

"The Jazz Violin Concerto has all the seriousness of a classical work—three movements, sophisticated orchestration, great development—but it also has the appeal of idiomatic fiddle writing, evoking wide open skies, sort of along the lines of Aaron Copland. Finally, it's got the 'it factor' of a jazz piece, and it allows the solo voice to really shine through, taking risks."

-Christian Howes, jazz violinist


"The Concerto for Jazz Violin is groundbreaking with the use of improvised violin solos."

-Andrew Paul, US Embassy Cultural Attaché in Kyiv, Ukraine


"Routenberg's Concerto for Jazz Violin and Orchestra was wonderful, its syncopated embellishments reminiscent of Aaron Copland, an American hoedown and a whole lot more.  This compostion is a true keeper, every bit as fine as much of Copland and Leonard Bernstein."

-THE NEAPOLITAN, Peg Goldberg Longstreth, Naples, Florida


 Program Notes

Purchase PDF Score, Parts, Improvising/Non-Improvising Solo Part, or Piano Reduction

The Anthropocene (The Human Age) (2017)

Symphonic Jazz Orchestra Commission

with support from The ASCAP Foundation

Louis Armstrong funds
World Premiere by Symphonic Jazz Orchestra

September 30, 2017
Carpenter Performing Arts Center, Long Beach, CA
Mitch Glickman, conductor & Music Director

Duration: 11 minutes


Press Release: The Winner is Selected for

The ASCAP Foundation/SJO Commissioning Prize

Sofia (2004)

for chamber orchestra and jazz piano trio

Premiered by the Henry Mancini Institute
Chamber Orchestra

Vince Mendoza, conductor

Duration: 5min30sec

bottom of page